The new miracle oil? Benefits of Apricot Oil

I know what you’re thinking….not another oil!! LOL If you are a part of the natural hair community, you probably have your fair share of oils already. Some of the more popular oils are; extra virgin olive oil (EVOO), extra virgin coconut oil (EVCO), and jojoba oil. There are MANY more, not to mention essential oils. If you aren’t to familiar with essential oils check out this article.

Get to the apricot oil whudya!” Ok ok! ūüôā

Recently I’ve decided to ‘simplify’ my hair care regimen (more info to come) as much as possible. While on this journey I came across Apricot Oil. My original intentions were to purchase a big bottle of sweet almond oil and use nothing else but that. Then I saw¬†this¬†bottle on the shelf at my local health food store.

120812183420

¬†I read the label 100% moisturizing oil–treat dry hair. Hmmmmmm…….and the price was right too! Retailing at less than $7 for 16 oz I say it was worth a shot. Since then I have consistently used this oil to seal my hair. I can honestly say I have noticed softer more manageable hair, and not to mention the shine! Could this be my new ‘miracle oil’?? Here are some of the benefits of Apricot Oil that I found on the web.

“Heated apricot oil has been has been long used as a hair treatment to restore shine and lost nutrients to dry or damaged hair. Essential fatty acids help restore softness to hair. Simply mix a few drops into shampoo, or rub a few drops between your palms then through hair.” (Quote provided by eHow.com)

“Rich in essential ¬†fatty acids like oleic and linoleic, apricot kernel oil is high in vitamin A. Since it easily penetrates the skin, it is good for prematurely aged, dry or irritated skin. The excellent softening and moisturizing properties is great for face, hands, and hair.” (Quote provided by healthguidance.org)

I have yet to use this oil for my face or body. The oil is very light in texture similar to jojoba oil. But moisturizing like EVOO, and provides sheen like EVCO. Darcy’s Botanicals also sells this oil with a light fragrance¬†on her website here.

Photo courtesy of DarcysBotanicals.com

Photo courtesy of DarcysBotanicals.com

*This product can be found at your local health food store or Amazon.com

Leave a Reply

